! Shakespeare on the Plaza - Alibi Calendar
alibi online
 

Shakespeare on the Plaza

Star-Cross’d Lovers’ Nights

What is it about Shakespeare’s work that’s so well-suited to summer eves and outdoor performances? Maybe it’s the great Bard’s mellifluous meter or his plays’ timeless knack for capturing the intoxication of young love on blossom-scented nights. Decide for yourself and catch his masterpiece of love and loss performed under the nascent stars. Opening on Friday, June 20, at 7:30pm and running Thursday through Sunday for four weeks, the Vortex Theatre presents Romeo and Juliet on the outdoor stage in Albuquerque’s Civic Plaza (400 Marquette NW). It promises good fun for young and old alike as the budding director Billy Trabaudo leads this timeless epic. If you hew more toward the slapstick comedy of A Midsummer Night’s Dream, that fairy-laden comedy will be running on alternate nights. Tickets are $15 ($10 for students) with Thursday prices rebated to $10 and $5. For more info and scheduling, visit vortexabq.org. (Ian Wolff)

Friday Jun 20, 2014

Additional Dates:


Civic Plaza

400 Marquette Avenue NW
Albuquerque, NM 87102
US

Cost:

$5-$15

Ages:

ALL-AGES!

The City and the Vortex Theatre present multiple performances of Shakespeare classics: Romeo & Juliet and A Midsummer Night's Dream.

 

The City of Albuquerque and The Vortex Theater are proud to present a joint venture that brings two of William Shakespeare's classics to life this summer in outdoor productions at Albuquerque's Civic Plaza. Starting June 19 and running for four weeks, The Vortex Theatre will present multiple showings ofRomeo and Juliet and A Midsummer Night's Dream. These classic stories will be set against a New Mexico backdrop and are perfect summer entertainment for the whole family. Each evening will also feature pre-performance entertainment—music, dance, poetry and Sunday night play-talks—that will further enhance the Shakespearean festival atmosphere of this event.

Performance Schedule

Romeo & Juliet

Thursday June 19 (Preview)

Friday June 20

Saturday June 21

Sunday June 22

Saturday June 28

Thursday July 3 (Teen Night*)

Sunday July 6

Saturday July 12

 

A Midsummer Night's Dream

Wednesday June 25 (Preview)

Thursday June 26

Friday June 27

Sunday June 29

Friday July 4

Saturday July 5

Thursday July 10

Sunday July 13

 

    Contact:

    Phone: 505-247-8600
    Website: Click to Visit