alibi online
Weekly Alibi PodcastFree Will AstrologyAlibi's Personals
 

review


V.25 No.13 | 3/31/2016
Elizabeth Olsen and Tom Hiddleston

Film Review

I Saw the Light

Tom Hiddleston shines in the role of Hank Williams, but the film just doesn’t sing

Tom Hiddleston shines as Hank Williams in I Saw the Light, but rote musical biopic just doesn’t sing.
V.25 No.12 | 3/24/2016

Restaurant Review

Another Home in Barelas

Coffee house provides piquant pastime

It’s a super-regional form of food, puro Burque, though related cuisine may be experienced in Santa or Cruces. It doesn’t exist in Tejas or Califas or Nueva York.
Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice

Film Review

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice

Superheroes battle to see who can cause the biggest explosion in unnecessarily dour franchise filler

This cinematic clash of the titans plays out like a heavyweight fight in Las Vegas—with all the attendant hype, excitement, action, flash, sizzle and inevitable post-event disappointment.
V.25 No.11 | 3/17/2016
Melissa Rauch in The Bronze

Film Review

The Bronze

Rude comedy/drama looks for humor in failure, but doesn’t entirely succeed

Melissa Rauch gets raunchy in Olympic comedy The Bronze.
V.25 No.10 | 3/10/2016

Restaurant Review

Trekking to the Mountains

An Hy Quan is a reason to dine in the Heights

In my notes about the papaya salad, I simply wrote, “crazy good.”
Damn. Shaman got abs.

Film Review

Embrace of the Serpent

Trippy Colombian adventure tale takes us up the river and out of our heads

Academy Award-nominated Colombian film Embrace of the Serpent takes viewers on a trippy trip up the Amazon.
V.25 No.9 | 3/3/2016

Restaurant Review

Hidden Temple of Pizza

Firenze serves up a mean pie if you can find it

Criminy. I literally moaned. Right there with my windows down in the dark behind a pizzeria.
Zootopia

Film Review

Zootopia

Disney turns an animal utopia on its ear in this savvy, sociological crime caper

Disney addresses some surprisingly topical issues in funny animal cartoon Zootopia.
V.25 No.8 | 2/25/2016

Restaurant Review

Asian Sensation

Ambiguous Asian restaurant delivers deliciousness

After I paid my bill, I waddled quickly off into the night. My belly was now full and warm, as was my heart.
Eddie the Eagle

Film Review

Eddie The Eagle

Sporting biopic sticks strictly to the bunny hill, but it’s a crowd-pleaser nonetheless

British ski jumper chases unlikely Olympic dreams in formualic, feel-good film Eddie the Eagle.
V.25 No.7 | 2/18/2016

Restaurant Review

Latitude Adjustment

A Taste of the Caribbean brings the ocean to ABQ

I got to talking to Ed, my server (and probably cook), about the dangers of goat addiction…
The Witch

Film Review

The Witch

Historical horror combines pilgrims and paranoia

When it’s dealing in spiritual and psychological ambiguity, The Witch casts a powerful spell. When it settles on more concrete boogeymen, it loses a lot of its grim impact.
V.25 No.6 | 2/11/2016

Restaurant Review

Getting into the Comfort Zone

Basil Leaf’s Vietnamese comfort food

Basil Leaf is the restaurant you go to if you are in need of comfort food that is a little out of your comfort zone.
Deadpool

Film Review

Deadpool

Comic books get comic in R-rated superhero parody

Deadpool will find an audience for its sarcastic humor and bloody mayhem, but it won't be for everyone.
V.25 No.5 | 2/4/2016

Restaurant Review

A Second Chance at a New Year

Ming Dynasty provides great dim sum for your Chinese New Year celebration

Ming Dynasty provides great dim sum for your Chinese New Year celebration.
Join our mailing list for exclusive info, the week's events and free stuff!
 

  • Select sidebar boxes to add below. You can also click and drag to rearrange the boxes; close using the little X icons on each box. To re-add a box you closed, return to this menu.
  • Because you are not logged in, any changes you make to these boxes will vanish as soon as you click to another page. If you log in, the boxes will stick.
  • alibi.com
  • Latest Posts
  • Web Exclusives
  • Recent Rocksquawk Discussions
  • Recent Classifieds
  • Latest User Posts
  • Most Active Users
  • Most Active Stories
  • Calendar Comments
  • Upcoming Alibi Picks
  • Albuquerque
  • Duke City Fix
  • Albuquerque Beer Scene
  • What's Wrong With This Picture?
  • Reddit Albuquerque
  • ABQ Journal Metro
  • ABQrising
  • ABQ Journal Latest News
  • Del.icio.us Albuquerque
  • NM and the West
  • New Mexico FBIHOP
  • Democracy for New Mexico
  • Only in New Mexico
  • Mario Burgos
  • Democracy for New Mexico
  • High Country News
  • El Grito
  • NM Politics with Joe Monahan
  • Stephen W. Terrell's Web Log
  • The Net Is Vast and Infinite
  • Slashdot
  • Freedom to Tinker
  • Is there a feed that should be on this list? Tell us about it.
    Out of the Woodwork
    Out of the Woodwork6.2.2016