music review


V.26 No.41 | 10/12/2017

Sonic Reducer

Jefe Mac Jackpot · SHREWD Keep Your LIVE Down · Heaven for Less Minor Sixth

New releases by the mysterious Jefe Mac, the triumphal SHREWD and the gritty Heaven for Less.
V.26 No.40 | 10/5/2017

Sonic Reducer

Clark Andrew Libbey From the Deserts of Ohio · Wake Self Malala · Sorry Guero Don't Call Us, We'll Find You

We review new releases by Clark Andrew Libbey, Wake Self and Sorry Guero.
V.26 No.38 | 9/21/2017
Train Conductor

Sonic Reducer

Train Conductor Train Conductor · Aaron Markland Tide Break · Constant Harmony Phonological Assimilation

We review new releases by Train Conductor, Aaron Markland and Constant Harmony.
V.26 No.32 | 8/10/2017

Sonic Reducer

Sheer Mag Urges Action

The maelstrom needs to feel your love

Sheer Mag's Need to Feel Your Love understands and embraces the power of passion.
V.26 No.29 | 7/20/2017
SATURATION

Sonic Reducer

SATURATION Saturates

Brockhampton brings it

Brockhampton’s SATURATION is all about drawing inspiration from one another to embrace and strengthen the self.
V.26 No.6 | 2/9/2017

Sonic Reducer

Sunlight Life is Good · Dad & Steve Solid State · Lone Piñon Dias Felices: String Music of America's Southwest and Mexico's North

Alibi record reviewer Geoffrey Plant gets all local on us, discussing new recordings by Sunlight, Dad & Steve as well as Lone Piñon.
V.26 No.4 | 1/26/2017

Sonic Reducer

Run the Jewels Run the Jewels 3

The unlikely pairing of Definitive Jux mogul El-P and Atlanta-based rapper Killer Mike is possibly the greatest thing to happen to hardcore hip-hop in the 21st century.
V.26 No.2 | 01/12/2017
Dar Williams
Public Domain

Music

In Review: Dar Williams

Mortal City 20th Anniversary Tour

Concert Review
V.26 No.2 | 1/12/2017

Sonic Reducer

Little Simz Stillness in Wonderland · Various Artists Bobo Yéyé: Belle Époque in Upper Volta · J. Cole 4 Your Eyez Only

Alibi staff writer Robin Babb reviews releases by J. Cole and Little Simz while also investigating a compilation of groovy African music.
V.25 No.49 | 12/8/2016

Sonic Reducer

Justice Woman · Bruno Mars 24K Magic · The Weeknd Starboy

Alibi music writer Robin Babb goes all pop with reviews of new recordings by The Weeknd, Justice and Bruno Mars, for crissakes.
V.25 No.48 | 12/1/2016

Sonic Reducer

The Awakening Orchestra Interlude: Atticus Live! The Music of Jesse Lewis · Rudy Royston Trio Rise of Orion · Summon Anumals

Alibi record reviewer Geoffrey Plant continues his awesome as hell jazz odyssey while taking a momentary diversion to examine the dark wonder that is Summon.
V.25 No.42 | 10/20/2016
Melanie Martinez in concert at Sunshine Theater
Tasha Lujan

Music

In Review: Handsome Ghost and Melanie Martinez

Some might say having a crib on stage is bizarre but it’s definitely the norm for Melanie Martinez’s Cry Baby Tour.

As soon as I showed up to get in line, there was no doubt this show was sold out. Girls dressed up with big bows, doll dresses, and bright pastel colors wrapped around the Sunshine Theater all the way back to First street. You could tell the fans' outfits were inspired by Melanie’s doll-like image. So much so that some other folks near the Sunshine Theater passed by fans gasping, thinking it was Melanie herself standing in line.

Handsome Ghost started off the show with an electronic, indie pop sound. Handsome Ghost reminded me of Owl City, mellow,bubbly, yet glitchy. Everyone was relaxed and swaying to the ghostly sound emanating from the opening band, occasionally moving their hands in the air with the songs, like they were trying to catch the elusive spirit rising from the stage. The set felt like the calm before the storm. It was enjoyable because you knew once Melanie got onto the stage everyone was going to be screaming, pushing and shoving, trying to get as close as they could to the stage. Handsome Ghost provided a sense of calm and good vibes to the audience as an otherwise anxious group of concert-goers listened, grooved and waited for Martinez.

Sure enough, fans screamed with so much excitement I could feel my ears ringing when Melanie walked onto the baby themed stage.

The stage was full with over-sized props of a cake, crib, and wooden blocks that lit up and spelled “Cry Baby”. She has definitely come a long way, musically, from her time on “The Voice” with her coach Adam Levine. Her image. though, has stayed the same with her half-black and half-fun-colored hair and look of innocence. She moved around the stage singing, smiling, lifting everyone’s heart when she got nearer.

Everyone sang along to her nursery rhyme-like songs. I don’t think cell phones stopped taking photos until about the fifth song, finally giving those in attendance a decent view. One thing that Melanie usually does that she didn’t do is at this show was pouring milk onto her fans. It sounds gross but a part of me actually wanted to see that now legendary act come true. I wanted to see the audience reaction. Would they have loved it or would they be absolutely disgusted and walk away? As far as Burque goes, we'll never know.

Towards the end of the show, she sang my favorite tune—and probably everyone else's too—"Mad Hatter."

Martinez played an encore, of course, for "her crybabies." which is what she calls her fans. Overall it was a fantastic show with lots of colors, enthusiasm, and an unique vibe. Even though her baby-themed show and music seems sorta bizarre in retrospect, I would definitely see her in concert again if I could.

V.25 No.40 | 10/6/2016

Sonic Reducer

Jacuzzi Boys Ping Pong · Fresh Snow ONE · Lizzy Rose Crocodile Tears

Resident record reviewer Geoffrey Plant returns to reiterate rock’s relevance.