alibi.com
Weekly Alibi Podcast
Alibi Bucks

review


V.25 No.17 | 4/28/2016
Calamari

Restaurant Review

Tutte le strade conducono a Roma

M’Tucci’s Italian has American crust

By Megan Reneau
The service is outstanding, the presentation is gorgeous, and the food is … well, we’ll get to that in a minute.
Google Earth icon Map Icon
Green Room

Film Review

Green Room

Punk-fueled indie shocker goes for the throat

By Devin D. O’Leary
Patrick Stewart is an evil skinhead in the punk-fueled horror hybrid Green Room.
V.25 No.16 | 4/21/2016
Sarah’s Special

Restaurant Review

Truckin’ to the Table

Loyola’s is cool and comforting

By August March
Loyola’s features a selection of traditional New Mexican food, its variations and a wide variety of comfort-inducing diner fare. We will be here again.
Google Earth icon Map Icon
The Jungle Book

Film Review

The Jungle Book

Fancy computer animation brings Kipling classic to life

By Devin D. O’Leary
Families searching for a little adventure are going to be entertained by this high-tech new take on a century-old classic.
V.25 No.15 | 4/14/2016
Pork Belly Tocd, Tofu Toc, Clamato & Beer

Restaurant Review

Mixxed Feelings

Baja Mexican food brings the noise

By Megan Reneau
Megan Reneau treks downstairs to try Mixx Food Bar.
Google Earth icon Map Icon
V.25 No.14 | 4/7/2016
Calamari

Restaurant Review

Cover Your Mouth

Mimmo's Ristorante and Pizzeria’s home-style Italian is worth the patrons

By Joshua Lee
The shrimp alfredo—a decent helping of larger-than-your-thumb shrimp on top of fettucini in a white sauce—was like a punch in the face, it was so good.
Google Earth icon Map Icon
Demolition

Film Review

Demolition

Grief-based comedy unsuccessfully tries to mix quirky and melancholic

By Devin D. O’Leary
Jake Gyllenhaal is sad and angry and (maybe) funny in the scattershot grief dramedy Demolition.
V.25 No.13 | 3/31/2016
Sandia Mountain Oysters
courtesy of Courtney’s Kitchen

Restaurant Review

Home is Where the Food is

Courtney’s Kitchen offers up love grub

By Fourtney Coster
Despite the feeling of comfort and the delicious, sophisticated take on homey food, there were a few things that I found to be problematic.
Elizabeth Olsen and Tom Hiddleston

Film Review

I Saw the Light

Tom Hiddleston shines in the role of Hank Williams, but the film just doesn’t sing

By Devin D. O’Leary
Tom Hiddleston shines as Hank Williams in I Saw the Light, but rote musical biopic just doesn’t sing.
V.25 No.12 | 3/24/2016
Enchilada plate at Barelas Coffee House

Restaurant Review

Another Home in Barelas

Coffee house provides piquant pastime

By August March
It’s a super-regional form of food, puro Burque, though related cuisine may be experienced in Santa or Cruces. It doesn’t exist in Tejas or Califas or Nueva York.
Google Earth icon Map Icon
Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice

Film Review

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice

Superheroes battle to see who can cause the biggest explosion in unnecessarily dour franchise filler

By Devin D. O’Leary
This cinematic clash of the titans plays out like a heavyweight fight in Las Vegas—with all the attendant hype, excitement, action, flash, sizzle and inevitable post-event disappointment.
V.25 No.11 | 3/17/2016
Melissa Rauch in The Bronze

Film Review

The Bronze

Rude comedy/drama looks for humor in failure, but doesn’t entirely succeed

By Devin D. O’Leary
Melissa Rauch gets raunchy in Olympic comedy The Bronze.
V.25 No.10 | 3/10/2016
Cashew mock pork with rice

Restaurant Review

Trekking to the Mountains

An Hy Quan is a reason to dine in the Heights

By Maggie Grimason
In my notes about the papaya salad, I simply wrote, “crazy good.”
Google Earth icon Map Icon
Damn. Shaman got abs.

Film Review

Embrace of the Serpent

Trippy Colombian adventure tale takes us up the river and out of our heads

By Devin D. O’Leary
Academy Award-nominated Colombian film Embrace of the Serpent takes viewers on a trippy trip up the Amazon.
V.25 No.9 | 3/3/2016
Margherita Pizza

Restaurant Review

Hidden Temple of Pizza

Firenze serves up a mean pie if you can find it

By Joshua Lee
Criminy. I literally moaned. Right there with my windows down in the dark behind a pizzeria.
Google Earth icon Map Icon
View desktop version