Due to the March 23, 2020 NM DOH Public Health Order, These Event Listings Are Not Accurate!
All non-essential businesses are closed, public gatherings are prohibited!
(One day some of these events will be rescheduled or will resume, but they are not happening now!)

Celebrate Student Writing Award Winners

Thursday April 27, 2017

202 Galisteo St
Ste A
Santa Fe, NM 87501

Phone: (505) 988-4226




Phone: (505)988-4226

More events at Collected Works

The recipient of the Richard Bradford Memorial Creative Writing Scholarship announced as well as over a dozen writers representing a diverse community read from their winning works.

Santa Fe Community College’s emerging writers will showcase their work during the Student Writing Awards Celebration at 6 p.m., Thursday, April 27 at Collected Works Bookstore, 202 Galisteo St.


Accolades, a booklet containing the pieces, will be available at the event and online at In addition, the seventh annual winner of the Santa Fe Community College Foundation’s Richard Bradford Memorial Creative Writing Scholarship will be announced. Named for the author of the 1968 classic Red Sky at Morning, the scholarship was initiated by author Michael McGarrity, arts advocate Charmay Allred and former Santa Fe city councilwoman Rebecca Wurzburger.


These are this year’s winners by category:

Poetry - Winner: Serena Rodriguez; Runner-Up: Cheryl Marita; Honorable Mentions: Jim Roser, Nancy Beauregard and Serena Rodriguez


Fiction - Winner: Natalie Najman; Runner-Up: Nancy Beauregard; Honorable Mentions: Lorraine E. Leslie and Nancy Beauregard

Personal Essay – Winner: K D Fancher; Runners-Up: Yun-Hui Tsai and Nancy Beauregard; Honorable Mentions: Judy L. Walker, Narangerel Shirendev and Julie Coriz

Academic Essay – Winner: Emily Klumpenhower; Honorable Mention: Natalie Najman


Winners whose names appear more than once submitted more than one writing sample. The awards are sponsored by SFCC’sOffice of Student Development, Student Government Association, the School of Liberal Arts and the SFCC Foundation.