Taking Back Orange at Art.i.fact, Santa Fe
Due to the March 23, 2020 NM DOH Public Health Order, These Event Listings Are Not Accurate!
All non-essential businesses are closed, public gatherings are prohibited!
(One day some of these events will be rescheduled or will resume, but they are not happening now!)

Taking Back Orange

Saturday Sept 2, 2017

Additional Dates:

930 Baca St
Ste C
Santa Fe, NM 87505






Michael Gullberg

Phone: 505-982-5000
Website: Click to Visit

More events at Art.i.fact

Santa Fe artists re-appropriate the color orange to pay homage to its richness and complexity. Runs through 9/9.

Untitled (orange) by Jennifer Joseph

Santa Fe Artists Reclaim the Color Orange

Santa Fe, NM - The opening reception for the ART.i.factory’s next exhibition, “Taking Back Orange,” will coincide with the Third Annual Baca Street Bash on Saturday, July 22.

Artist and curator Jennifer Joseph brings together a lively group of Santa Fe artists who have exhibited with Santa Fe Collective over the last three years.

• Opening Reception: Saturday, July 22, 4-8 p.m. (during the Third Annual Baca Street Bash)

• Where: The ART.i.factory Gallery space (inside Art.i.fact Consignment Boutique) 930 Baca St., Suite C, Santa Fe

• Exhibition Dates: July 22 through September 9

• Gallery Hours: Monday to Saturday 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Sundays 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.

“Over the course of the presidential election, the use of color to denote opposing teams and movements became very apparent,” Joseph says. “Blue states/red states, pink hats, red hats. Color is highly effective as an easy symbolic device in these cases. But when the color orange became a meme as a result of the president’s misuse of self-tanner and hair dye, that’s when it became clear that we must re-appropriate the color orange and pay homage to its richness and complexity.”

Artists exploring the color orange include: Janet Abrams, Tom Applequist, Rita Bard, Susanna Carlisle/Bruce Hamilton, Chris Collins, Sydney Cooper, Danae Falliers, Anne Farrell, Michael Freed, Charles Greeley, Nicola Heindl-Watson, Tim Jag, Jennifer Joseph, Isolde Kille, Ilona Pachler, Terri Rolland, Sarah Stolar, Lori Swartz, Bunny Tobias, John Vokoun, RJ Ward, Marion Wasserman, and Todd Ryan White.