On the Edge

Sunday Mar 17, 2013

107 W Palace Ave
Santa Fe, NM 87501

Phone: (505) 983-2075






Concordia Santa Fe

Phone: 505-913-7211
Website: Click to Visit

More events at St. Francis Auditorium

Concordia Santa Fe opens its 2013 concert season with a program featuring the works of Aaron Copland, Charles Ives, Leonard Bernstein and others.

Dr. James Smart, Director of Bands at the University of Montana, will lead the 40-member wind ensemble as guest conductor. ADMISSION IS FREE, with donations gratefully accepted at the door.Perhaps the most well-known selection on the program, Copland's Quiet City (1940) was originally intended as incidental music to a short-running play by Irwin Shaw.  The play told the story of two brothers, one of whom rejected his heritage in an effort to conform to the business world, while the other maintained an unconventional, artistic, socially conscious lifestyle.  In the score, the prominent trumpet part embodies one of the bothers wandering about the city at night, imagining the thoughts of the people around him.  Concordia Santa Fe will perform Donald Hunsberger's wind ensemble arrangement of the original orchestral piece.Also on the program, Charles Ives's Variations on "America" is a witty, irreverent piece for organ composed in 1891.  According to his biographers, Ives played the piece in organ recitals in Danbury and in Brewster, New York, in the same year. His father would not let him play some of the pages at the Brewster concert because they had canons in two and three keys at once that proved to unsuited to performance in church: they made the boys "laugh out and get noisy."  This is the earliest surviving piece using polytonality.  William Schumann wrote a remarkably effective orchestra transcription of this work in 1964, and it is this version upon which William Rhoads based his equally effective wind ensemble transcription. The three movements of Bernstein's first symphony (1942) reflect his impressions of the terrible fate that was then descending upon the Jews in Europe, corresponding to the story of the prophet Jeremiah of the Book of Lamentations.  Bernstein did not intend the work to be programmatic but rather to create an "emotional quality."  The scherzo second movement, Profanation, was written to give a general sense of the destruction and chaos brought on by pagan corruption within the priesthood and the people.  CSF will perform Frank Bencriscutto's transcription of this powerful movement.Additional works on the program include Fog Tropes by Ingram Marshall, Bali by Michael Colgrass, Augenblick by Christopher Stark, and Huapango! by Jose Pablo Moncayo.