Centennial Celebration of Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Saturday Apr 27, 2013

203 Cornell Dr NE
Albuquerque, NM 87131

Phone: 925-5858
Website: Click to Visit






Popejoy Hall

Phone: 505-277-8010
Website: Click to Visit

More events at Popejoy Hall

New Mexico Philharmonic concludes Classical Series with Stravinsky's groundbreaking work.

The audience was so astounded at the premiere of Igor Stravinsky’s ballet, The Rite of Spring, that they erupted in shouting and fights. The New Mexico Philharmonic is instead counting on the audience erupting in applause when they perform the piece at Popejoy Hall on Saturday, April 27, at 6:00 p.m.

Please join in a Centennial Celebration of Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring. This work’s premiere is considered the pivotal moment in the birth of 20th century music, and the Paris premiere in which the fabled riot broke out is one of the most sensational events in music history. The opening bassoon solo confused the audience, as it was written very high in the bassoon’s register, thereby making the instrument almost unrecognizable. Then the dancing started, and the audience was certainly not prepared for the choreography that was used to depict a sacrificial rite. Fistfights erupted in the audience; the music was almost completely drowned out by the shouting; there are tales of the choreographer calling out numbers for the dancers so they could follow the choreography since the music was inaudible over the din of the rioting audience; and the producer resorted to flipping the house lights on and off to try and restore order. Pierre Monteux, the conductor, remained completely unfazed by the commotion and continued conducting as if nothing were wrong. Stravinsky was furious and stormed out, slamming the door behind him. The orchestral suite caused no such ruckus, and when it premiered a year later, Stravinsky was carried out on the shoulders of his supporters.

Please join the New Mexico Philharmonic in the celebration of this landmark work, as well as two other mainstays in the orchestral repertoire, Copland’s Appalachian Spring and Debussy’s Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun.

The orchestra recently announced programming for its exciting new 2013-2014 Season Classical Series that will open on October 12th with internationally-renowned pianist Olga Kern performing Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 2.

Conducting the Philharmonic in this final classical concert of the season is one of America’s most promising and talented young conductors, Andrew Grams. Maestro Grams has already appeared with many of the great orchestras of the world including the Cleveland Orchestra, the Philadelphia Orchestra, the Chicago Symphony, the St. Louis Symphony, the Detroit Symphony, the National Symphony Orchestra of Washington D.C., and the orchestras of Baltimore, Dallas, Houston, New Jersey and others in the United States. On the international arena, he has conducted the Montreal Symphony, the Vancouver Symphony, the Orchestre National de Lyon, the Orchestra of the Beethovenhalle Bonn, the BBC Symphony Orchestra London, the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, the Melbourne Symphony, the Orchestra of Santa Cecilia Rome, the Netherlands Radio Philharmonic, the Residentie Orchestra of the Hague, the Hamburg Symphony, and the Malmo Symphony.

A Maryland native raised in Severn, Andrew Grams began conducting at the age of 17, when he directed the World Youth Symphony Orchestra at Interlochen Arts Camp in Michigan. In 1999 he received a Bachelor of music degree in violin performance from the Juilliard School, and in 2003 he received a conducting degree from the Curtis Institute of Music, where he worked with Otto-Werner Mueller. Also an accomplished violinist, Mr. Grams was a member of the New York City Ballet Orchestra at Lincoln Center from 1998 to 2004, serving as acting associate principal second violin in 2002 and 2004. In addition, he has performed with ensembles including the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, the Orchestra of St. Luke’s, the Brooklyn Philharmonic, and the New Jersey Symphony.