Restaurant Reviews


V.29 No.5 | 1/30/2020
The very definiton of mouth-watering
Eric Williams Photography

Restaurant Review

Talking Tacos

Urban Taqueria starts a political conversation

When I have a weekly sit-down with my therapist, a small portion of our time is spent discussing what I plan to write in the week ahead, my goals for where my writing will be going. This is partly to do with my struggles with imposter syndrome, and otherwise as a way to get my thoughts out in a healthy way. What does come up often though is that there’s a respite in these pages. In a world full of dark news, we get to sit and enjoy the idea of food, a communal gathering of many pieces all gathered together to make something you can stop and relax with. While not always the case, I avoid politics in the food section for many reasons, one of which is to give everyone a break. I’ve seen the news stories and had done my best not to get involved, but Urban Taqueria has come up far too many times in peoples’ recommendations for me to ignore, so here we are.

[ more >> ] [ permalink ]

V.29 No.4 | 1/23/2020
Umami bowl
Eric Williams Photography

Restaurant Review

Umami, Ooh Daddy

Umami Moto finds new home in New Mexico

Umami Moto has a burrito and they have curry. There are sandwiches and stir fry, pot stickers and tots. The idea is to have a little bit of something for everyone. The twist is that all these things have an Asian street food angle to them.
V.29 No.3 | 1/16/2020
Fun Noodle Bar food
Eric Williams Photography

Restaurant Review

Having Fun With Noods

Fun Noodle Bar sets perfect example of how to do noodles

With the University area having the Noodle District comfortably operating at this point, the expansion has to begin in new places. Fun Noodle Bar fits perfectly in the Heights and residents will be having fun there for a long time.
V.29 No.2 | 1/9/2020
apple pie
Eric Williams Photography

Restaurant Review

Copper Canyon Cafe Holds Tradition

How we find joy in simplifying

The plate hits the table and you feel as if you’re in Edward Hopper’s Nighthawks, with its straightforward presentation and simplicity lending an air of ’50s diner status to your meal. You don’t have to overthink it, there’s not such a complex palette of flavors at work that your mind is required to process. It’s just good in the way it should be, direct and upfront.
V.29 No.1 | 1/2/2020
food
Dan Pennington

Restaurant Review

Egg and I No More

Sunnyside Up inhabits local scene, breaks corporate ties

It’s not terribly common to see a national chain convert to local. Sunnyside Up has proved they know what they’re doing and don’t need some big corporate board to help them. They’re one of us now, and we should be thankful that the Heights has more breakfast options to choose from.
V.28 No.51 | 12/19/2019
A feast that can succinctly wrap up your year
Eric Williams Photography

Restaurant Review

Nob Hill Revival Is A Go

Sushi & Sake brings their magic touch to Nob Hill

Sushi & Sake manages to have a consistent level of genuinely amazing dishes that balance both of those aspects, leaving you with something absolutely worth your time and energy.
V.28 No.50 | 12/12/2019
Jerusalem-Taste of the Holy Land
Eric Williams Photography

Restaurant Review

Journey To Jerusalem

Taste of the Holy Land offers Rio Rancho something new

For many of us Burqueños, Rio Rancho isn’t the easiest drive, but with food like Jerusalem-Taste of the Holy Land, maybe it’s the only logical journey to make.
V.28 No.49 | 12/5/2019
pizza
Eric Williams Photography

Restaurant Review

Andiamo!

Da Vinci’s is full of surprises

Da Vinci's Pizza Café does their level best to offset the pricey menu items with a terrific assortment of quality ingredients and portions that all but guarantee leftovers.
V.28 No.47 | 11/21/2019
food
Eric Williams Photography

Restaurant Review

The Religion of Bacon

Bacon Jam will destroy your weight loss dreams

Bacon Jam serves the indulgent, over-the-top bacon-laden dishes your metaphorical heart has been looking for. The main pull here is simple: Bacon is amazing, and no dish has ever suffered from having bacon in it.
V.28 No.46 | 11/14/2019
Dare I say, food fit for a King?
Eric Williams Photography

Restaurant Review

Sadie’s Earned Their Crown

It's time to rectify a gap in our review catalogue

Sadie’s is New Mexican food royalty, where they reign from a castle made of love and good cooking, offering the authentic experience that you need to convince anyone who lives outside of New Mexico that their food will always pale in comparison.
V.28 No.45 | 11/7/2019
enchiladas
Eric Williams Photography

Restaurant Review

Building Friendships and Enchiladas

The Jealous Fork Gives You the Power To Make the Perfect Dish

The Jealous Fork, a build-your-own enchilada place, is a step away from the regularity we see in other New Mexican restaurants. It feels good to have control and choice.
V.28 No.43 | 10/24/2019
Not listed but still amazing: the corned beef and cabbage
Eric Williams Photography

Restaurant Review

A Quarter Celtic on My Dad’s Side

Celtic Fare Is the Name of the Game at Quarter Celtic

Dan Pennington goes to Quarter Celtic but then only writes about the food.
V.28 No.42 | 10/17/2019
Dress em the way you like, perfectly customizable.
Eric Williams Photography

Restaurant Review

Ever Hear The One About The Taco Shop?

Nevermind, it’s too cheesy

Guaca Guaca does two things really well: Making traditional food well without worrying about overdressing it into something it isn’t, while also finding ways to add a bit of fun and change to time-tested formulas.
V.28 No.41 | 10/10/2019
Gryffindor Roll
Eric Williams Photography

Restaurant Review

No Ordinary Venue Menu

One night in Tokyo Bangkok made Hosho humble

What Tokyo Bangkok delivers is a baseline, default setting of fresh fish, quality ingredients and a true, workmanlike competence across their entire ambitious menu.
V.28 No.40 | 10/3/2019
burger
Eric Williams Photography

Restaurant Review

Take A Stand On Good Burgers

The Burger Stand brings unique grace to the staple

Hot damn, The Burger Stand has the magic.