Feature: Film Guide

5 min read
2017 Oscars
(Samuel Kerwin)
Share ::
Here’s your complete listing of all the films nominated in this years Academy Awards, which will take place Sunday, Feb. 26, starting at 6:30pm MST. To assist you in your office betting pool, we’ve also included the top awards already nabbed by the night’s top eight categories. (Awards key: BAFTA = British Academy of Film and Television Awards, BFCA = Broadcast Film Critics Association, DGA = Directors Guild of America, GG = Golden Globes, PGA = Producers Guild of America, SAG = Screen Actors Guild)

Best Picture



Hacksaw Ridge

Hell or High Water

Hidden Figures

La La Land


Manchester by the Sea


Best Actor

Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea (BAFTA, BFCA, GG)

Andrew Garfield,
Hacksaw Ridge (BFCA)

Ryan Gosling,
La La Land (GG)

Viggo Mortensen,
Captain Fantastic

Denzel Washington, Fences (SAG)

Best Actress

Isabelle Huppert, Elle (GG)

Ruth Negga,

Natalie Portman, Jackie (BFCA)

Emma Stone,
La La Land (BAFTA, GG)

Meryl Streep,
Florence Foster Jenkins (BFCA)

Best Supporting Actor

Mahershala Ali, Moonlight (BFCA, SAG)

Jeff Bridges,
Hell or High Water

Lucas Hedges, Manchester by the Sea

Dev Patel,
Lion (BAFTA)

Michael Shannon,
Nocturnal Animals

Best Supporting Actress

Viola Davis, Fences (BAFTA, BFCA, GG, SAG)

Naomie Harris,

Nicole Kidman, Lion

Octavia Spencer,
Hidden Figures

Michelle Williams, Manchester by the Sea

Best Director

Damien Chazelle, La La Land (BAFTA, BFCA, DGA, GG)

Mel Gibson,
Hacksaw Ridge

Barry Jenkins, Moonlight

Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester by the Sea

Denis Villeneuve, Arrival

Best Adapted Screenplay

Arrival, Eric Heisserer (BFCA)

Fences, August Wilson

Hidden Figures, Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi

Lion, Luke Davies (BAFTA)

Moonlight, Barry Jenkins; story by Tarell Alvin McCraney

Best Original Screenplay

20th Century Women, Mike Mills

Hell or High Water, Taylor Sheridan

La La Land, Damien Chazelle (BFCA, GG)

The Lobster, Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthymis Filippou

Manchester by the Sea, Kenneth Lonergan (BAFTA, BFCA)

Best Animated Feature

Kubo and the Two Strings, Travis Knight and Arianne Sutner

Moana, John Musker, Ron Clements and Osnat Shurer

My Life as a Zucchini, Claude Barras and Max Karli

The Red Turtle, Michael Dudok de Wit and Toshio Suzuki

Zootopia, Byron Howard, Rich Moore and Clark Spencer

Best Documentary Feature

13th, Ava DuVernay, Spencer Averick and Howard Barish

Fire at Sea, Gianfranco Rosi and Donatella Palermo

I Am Not Your Negro, Raoul Peck, Rémi Grellety and Hébert Peck

Life, Animated, Roger Ross Williams and Julie Goldman

O.J.: Made in America, Ezra Edelman and Caroline Waterlow

Best Foreign Language Film

A Man Called Ove (Sweden)

Land of Mine (Denmark)

Tanna (Australia)

The Salesman (Iran)

Toni Erdmann (Germany)

Best Cinematography

Arrival, Bradford Young

La La Land, Linus Sandgren

Lion, Greig Fraser

Moonlight, James Laxton

Silence, Rodrigo Prieto

Best Costume Design

Allied, Joanna Johnston

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, Colleen Atwood

Florence Foster Jenkins, Consolata Boyle

Jackie, Madeline Fontaine

La La Land, Mary Zophres

Best Film Editing

Arrival, Joe Walker

Hacksaw Ridge, John Gilbert

Hell or High Water, Jake Roberts

La La Land, Tom Cross

Moonlight, Nat Sanders and Joi McMillon

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

A Man Called Ove, Eva von Bahr and Love Larson

Star Trek Beyond, Joel Harlow and Richard Alonzo

Suicide Squad, Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini and Christopher Nelson

Best Original Score

Jackie, Mica Levi

La La Land, Justin Hurwitz

Lion, Dustin O’Halloran and Hauschka

Moonlight, Nicholas Britell

Passengers, Thomas Newman

Best Original Song

“Audition (The Fools Who Dream),” from La La Land – Music by Justin Hurwitz; lyrics by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul

“Can’t Stop the Feeling,” from
Trolls – Music and lyrics by Justin Timberlake, Max Martin and Karl Johan Schuster

“City of Stars,” from
La La Land – Music by Justin Hurwitz; lyrics by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul

“The Empty Chair,” from
Jim: The James Foley Story – Music and lyrics by J. Ralph and Sting

“How Far I’ll Go,” from
Moana – Music and lyrics by Lin-Manuel Miranda

Best Production Design

Arrival, Patrice Vermette, Paul Hotte

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, Stuart Craig, Anna Pinnock

Hail, Caesar!, Jess Gonchor, Nancy Haigh

La La Land, David Wasco, Sandy Reynolds-Wasco

Passengers, Guy Hendrix Dyas, Gene Serdena

Best Sound Editing

Arrival, Sylvain Bellemare

Deep Water Horizon, Wylie Stateman and Renée Tondelli

Hacksaw Ridge, Robert Mackenzie and Andy Wright

La La Land, Ai-Ling Lee and Mildred Iatrou Morgan

Sully, Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman

Best Sound Mixing

Arrival, Bernard Gariépy Strobl and Claude La Haye

Hacksaw Ridge, Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie and Peter Grace

La La Land, Andy Nelson, Ai-Ling Lee and Steve A. Morrow

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, David Parker, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson

13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi, Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers, Jeffrey J. Haboush and Mac Ruth

Best Visual Effects

Deepwater Horizon, Craig Hammack, Jason Snell, Jason Billington and Burt Dalton

Doctor Strange, Stephane Ceretti, Richard Bluff, Vincent Cirelli and Paul Corbould

The Jungle Book, Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Dan Lemmon

Kubo and the Two Strings, Steve Emerson, Oliver Jones, Brian McLean and Brad Schiff

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, John Knoll, Mohen Leo, Hal Hickel and Neil Corbould

Best Animated Short

“Blind Vaysha,” Theodore Ushev

“Borrowed Time,” Andrew Coats and Lou Hamou-Lhadj

“Pear Cider and Cigarettes,” Robert Valley and Cara Speller

“Pearl,” Patrick Osborne

“Piper,” Alan Barillaro and Marc Sondheimer

Best Documentary Short

“4.1 Miles,” Daphne Matziaraki

“Extremis,” Dan Krauss

“Joe’s Violin,” Kahane Cooperman and Raphaela Neihausen

“Watani: My Homeland,” Marcel Mettelsiefen and Stephen Ellis

“The White Helmets,” Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara

Best Live Action Short

“Ennemis Intérieurs,” Sélim Azzazi

“La Femme et le TGV,” Timo von Gunten and Giacun Caduff

“Silent Nights,” Aske Bang and Kim Magnusson

“Sing,” Kristof Deák and Anna Udvardy

“Timecode,” Juanjo Giménez
imperial walker

Samuel Kerwin

oscar monkey

Samuel Kerwin

1 2 3 214